Tag Archive for: staff

On April 18, Metropolitan Energy Center (MEC) elected its New Board Members for 2015. Our new Board members bring a wealth of talents, insight and life experience to our organization and we are grateful for their time and interest in our work!


Our Officers for 2015 are:

Luke Hagedorn, Polsinelli Law Firm

Vice Presidents 
Bob Berkebile, BNIM
Elizabeth Bejan, ReVolve KC
Chris DeVolder, HOK (former Board President)

Steve Kidwell, Eagle Materials

Bob Solger, Solar Design Studio


The following individuals have stepped down from the MEC Board in the past six months:  John Sommers, Henderson Engineers; Dennis Brown, Kansas Gas Service; and Gunnar Hand, BNIM.  We want to recognize and thank them for their contributions!

One of our longest serving Board members, John Sommers helped lead the organization through the transition between Executive Directors as well as many funding and program changes.  John served as Board Secretary in 2013 and 2014.

While Dennis Brown has stepped down from the MEC Board, he and Kansas Gas Service remain active partners with MEC on a variety of projects and Dennis continues to participate in the Kansas City Regional Clean Cities Coalition.

Gunnar Hand resigned from the MEC Board in the past month as part of accepting a job with an architecture and design firm in Los Angeles.  We wish Gunnar the best of luck and good fortune in this next stage of his career!


We are also pleased to welcome the following members to the MEC Board:

Gaylen Davenport, Worldwide Energy

Twana Hall-Scott, Scott Hall and Associates

Anne Melia, Blackstone Environmental Group

Kevin Pinkowski, BHC Rhodes

Gerald Shechter, City of Kansas City, MO